Connecting to Another Data Scope
In Axonius, users are assigned to one or more data scopes. Users with the Move between data scopes permission can temporarily connect to another permitted data scope without switching user accounts. This allows users to troubleshoot issues and analyze broader dataset access within their assigned role.
Notes
- This permission is enabled by default for Admin users.
- Granting this permission to non-admin users allows them to view the Data Scopes tab in System Settings, where they can see all scopes assigned to their role.
- All actions performed during Data Scope impersonation are recorded in the Activity Logs under the impersonating user's identity, explicitly noting the target Data Scope.
Restricted Actions During Impersonation
The following actions are unavailable while connected to an alternate data scope, regardless of user permissions:
- Creating and assigning users
- Modifying System Settings
- Viewing Activity logs
- Creating, editing, or using Asset Scope queries
Scope-Specific Assets
Any items created while connected to an alternate data scope remain exclusive to that scope. These include:
- Queries
- Dashboards
- Reports
- Enforcement Sets
Navigation NoteConnecting to another data scope redirects you to the equivalent page in the target scope. If the exact page is unavailable, you will be redirected to the closest matching page; if no match exists, you will land on the Dashboard page.
To connect to a different data scope:
Do one of the following:
-
From your user avatar:
- In the lower-left corner, click your avatar and then Connect As.
- From the data scopes list, select a data scope.

- In the Connect to another Data Scope popup, click Yes, connect.
You are taken to the connected data scope.
A yellow banner at the top of the window lets you know to which data scope you are connected.

- Click Disconnect in the yellow banner to return to your assigned data scope. You are taken to the Dashboard page.
-
Alternatively, you can click your user avatar on the lower-left, and select whether to connect to a different data scope or to disconnect and return to your main data scope.
-
From within the data scope details drawer:
-
From the top right corner of any page, click
. The System Settings page opens. -
In the Categories/Subcategories pane of the System Settings page, expand User and Role Management, and select Data Scopes.
-
In the Data Scopes page, select the data scope that you want to enter.
-
In the header of the data scope drawer, click Connect as Data Scope.

- In the Connect to another Data Scope popup, click Yes, connect.
You are connected to the selected data scope. A yellow banner at the top of the window lets you know to which data scope you are connected.

- Click Disconnect in the yellow banner to return to your assigned data scope. You are taken to the Dashboard page.
-
Updated 15 days ago
