Manage Users
  • 3 Minutes To Read
  • Print
  • Share
  • Dark
    Light

Manage Users

  • Print
  • Share
  • Dark
    Light

Each Axonius user is assigned to a specific role. A role consists of predefined set of permissions for working with Axonius pages and capabilities. This means that any changes on the role permissions will affect all the users for whom the role is assigned.

For details on managing roles, see Manage Roles.



To open the Manage Users page, from the top right corner of all pages, click image.png . The System Settings page opens. Then, click the Manage Users tab.

The page displays the list of defined Axonius users, and each user's role and permissions.
image.png


Adding a New User

  1. From the Manage Users tab on the System Settings page, click Add User.
    image.png

    User drawer appears.
    image.png

  2. Specify the following user details:

    1. User Name (required) - The user name of the user intended for use in the Axonius system. This is a unique field and canot be changed.
    2. First Name and Last Name (optional) - The first and last name of the user.
    3. Email (optional) - The email of the user to create or to reset a password.
    4. Role (required) - Select a role from the predefined roles. Roles can be reassigned later per user or bulk operation.
    5. Password mode (required) - Select one of the following:
      • Set password - The Password field will contain the password to associate with the user.
      • Generate reset password link - Will generate a reset password link URL which can be copied or sent to the user, where he can set his own password.
  3. Click Save.

NOTE
If you are using an Identity Provider Login, for example SAML, any user logging in for the first time will be added to the users list. The user will be assigned to a role based on the configured role assignment rules. For details, see Identity Provider Settings .

Editing an Existing User

  1. To update an existing user, from the Manage Users tab on the System Settings page, click a user record.
    User drawer appears.
    image.png

  2. Updade the user's configuration:

    • For internal users, you can change the user's: first name, last name email role or password.
    • For external users (SAML/LDAP), you can update:
      • Role (required) - Chjange the user's role.
      • Add Ignore role assignment rules (required, default: False) - select whether to enforce the current user's role regardless of the Role Assignment Settings configuration under the Identity Providers Settings.
        • If enabled, the user's assigned role will remain as-is and will not be evaluated on future logins.
        • If disabled, the user's assigned role may be changed on future logins, depends on the Role Assignment Settings configuration under the Identity Providers Settings.
  3. Click Save.

NOTES
  • You can edit only internal users, that were created in Axonius by an admin or by any other authorized user.
  • Only admin users can modify the system default admin user. Allowed changes are limited to email and password.

Reset a User password

  1. To reset a password for an existing user, from the Manage Users tab on the System Settings page, click a user record.
    User drawer appears.
    image.png

  2. You can choose to reset a password using one of the following methods:

    1. Setting a new password manually
      • Enter a new password in the Password field and then click Save.
    2. Creating a reset password link for the user to reset his own password
      • Click the Reset Password icon.
      • A new reset password link will be generated each time and will be visible in a dialog.
      • The reset password link will be valid according to the expiration configured in the Password Reset Settings.
      • The reset password link will also expire when the user sets a new password through the reset password link or when a new reset password link is generated for this user.
      • The reset password link can either be copied or sent by Email (If an Email server is configured in the Email Settings).
        image.png

Deleting Single or Multiple Users

To delete a user, from the Manage Users tab on the System Settings page, click a user record, and then click the Delete ( image.png ) icon.

image.png

You can also select multiple users, and from the Actions menu, select Delete Users.
image.png

NOTE
The system admin user cannot be deleted.

Re-assign Role Single or to Multiple Users

To re-assign role to a single or to multiple users:

  1. From the Manage Users tab on the System Settings page, select the relevant users, click the Actions menu and select Assign Role.
    image.png
  2. In the dialog, select the role to be assigned for the selected users and click assign.
    image.png
Was This Article Helpful?