Lifecycle Settings
  • 3 Minutes To Read
  • Print
  • Share
  • Dark
    Light

Lifecycle Settings

  • Print
  • Share
  • Dark
    Light

The Lifecycle Settings enables configuring the global discovery cycle parameters.

To open the Lifecycle Settings, click image.png from the top right corner of all pages. The System Settings page opens.

The Lifecycle Settings consists the following options:

Discovery Settings

  • Discovery Schedule (required, default: Interval) - Select the discovery schedule option:

    • Every x hours - When this option is selected, discovery cycles will run in intervals according to the value defined in the Repeat scheduled discovery every (hours) field.
    • Every x days - When this option is selected, discovery cycles will run at the time specified in Scheduled discovery time field every number days defined in the Repeat scheduled discovery every (days) field.
    • Days of week - When this option is selected, discovery cycles will run at the time specified in Scheduled discovery time field in the selected days of week as specified in the Repeat scheduled discovery on field.
      image.png


  • Constantly run Enforcement Sets (required, default: False)

    • If enabled, Axonius will constantly run the automatic Enforcement Sets. This option should be enabled when you have a real-time adapter and the assets fetched from that adapter are part of Saved Queries used as the trigger for different Enforcement Sets.
    • If disabled, Axonius will run the automatic Enforcement Sets in the end of each discovery cycle. It is recommended to keep this option disabled.
    NOTE
  • Tag reimaged devices (required, default: False) -

    • If enabled, Axonius tags a device as 'old' if Axonius identifies that the device had been reimaged and there is a new asset record in Axonius that represents that device.
      For example, a new employee receives a laptop that was owned by a former employee. The laptop had been reimaged. When the discovery cycle discovers the reimaged laptop, Axonius identifies there are two different devices sharing common characteristics (for example, same MAC address) and one device is 'new' in the network, while the other has not been discovered for some time. In such case, Axonius tags the 'old' device as 'Reimaged by [new device host name]'.
    • If disabled, Axonius will not tag any devices automatically.

    image.png

Historical Snapshot Scheduling Settings

  • Enable scheduled historical snapshot (required, default: switched on)

    • If switched on, Axonius saves historical collected data which can be used in the dashboard and in the Devices page and in the Users page to show insights on historical data.
    • If switched off, Axonius does not save historical collected data.

    Once switched on, specify the following parameters:

    • Historical snapshot schedule (data will be saved for first discovery on each day) (required, default: Every discovery cycle) - Select the historical snapshot schedule option:
      • Every discovery cycle - When this option is selected, historical snapshot data will be saved as part of every discovery cycle.
      NOTE

      Historical snapshot data is saved only for the first discovery cycle on each calendar day.

      • Every x days - When this option is selected:
        • Historical snapshot data will be saved at the time specified in Scheduled historical snapshot time field every number days defined in the Repeat scheduled historical snapshot every (days) field.
        • Historical snapshot data will not be saved as part of any discovery cycle.
      • Days of week - When this option is selected:
        • Historical snapshot data will be saved at the time specified in Scheduled historical snapshot time field in the selected days of week as specified in the Repeat scheduled historical snapshot on field.
        • Historical snapshot data will not be saved as part of any discovery cycle.

image.png


Historical Snapshot Retention Settings

  • Enable historical snapshot retention (required, default: switched off) - Select this checkbox to enable historical data retention. This setting is only relevant if the Enable daily historical snapshot is switched on.

    Once enabled, specify the following parameters:

    • Historical snapshot retention period (days) (required, default: 180) - Specify the number of days for which the historical data will be kept. Any historical data which is older than the number of days specified, will be deleted.

image.png

Historical Snapshot Data Settings

  • Save entity advanced view data (required, default: False) - Select whether to save entities advanced view data (the raw data fetched from the adapter connection source) as part of the historical collected data. This setting is only relevant if the Enable daily historical snapshot is switched on.
    • If enabled, the saved historical collected data will include all the entities advanced view data.
    • If disabled, the saved historical collected data will not include any of the entities advanced view data.

image.png

Was This Article Helpful?